Lifestyle · Out and About · photography

We caught the Hogwarts express..

I’m so excited about this blog post!

We went to the Warner Brothers studio tour when the costumes were on display. I felt like this should always be the case as it made it seem as though the character was on the set! It made it that much more real.

I’m not going to spoil the beginning of the tour. I had previously read up on what happens and I truly wish I hadn’t. So I’ll allow you to experience the excitement for yourself!

The great hall.
I was home. I had finally made it into Hogwarts. The tables were laid, Dumbledore and staff were waiting (not really, but the costumes were) and we were ready for the sorting hat! (Again, there’s no sorting hat ceremony – i’m just explaining how it felt to me!). I of course knew I was a Slytherin. I went over to my house table where the crest and costumes were waiting for me. It was brilliant. The only downside to the great hall was the time limit. The rest of the tour didn’t have one, but this room did. I wish I had more time to take it in.

IMG_20170805_184615_457

The rest of the tour was your own pace. The first section was the sets (and the costumes). It was amazing. I honestly don’t know how to put it into words. We saw Gryffindor common room and the bedroom. There was the potions class (which was one of my favourite things) the detail in this set was unreal! I spent so long there taking photos!
We also saw Dumbledore’s office, the Weasleys house (including the moving knitting, washing up and the knife chopping the carrots). Part of the ministry of magic set and much much much more!!
There was a chance to ride a broom stick on with a green screen behind. I wasn’t bothered about this as the photos looked really fake and the photos cost £14 and the DVD was £25.
Then there was the forbidden forest. Not my most favourite part i’ll admit. It was great to see Buckbeak, but I didn’t enjoy seeing the giant moving spiders which appeared during the lightning. I will skip that next time!

Once you have walked through that (terrifying ordeal) you arrive at Kings Cross. Platform 9 & 3/4 to be exact. It truly felt like we were there! There were areas to take photos “running through the wall on the the platform”. A shop to buy your chocolate frogs and Bertie Botts beans. You were able to GO ON to Hogwarts Express and see the carriages which were filmed. You could even take part in some film making. Our photos were a bit of a fail to be honest so we didn’t buy them.

After that we got some food. I think the food was reasonably priced. Just think of London prices and you won’t be shocked. You can also take your own picnic and eat it in this area which will save you money if you have kids with you.
Of course we had to try a butterbeer. I’m not too sure what I expected. I have seen mixed reviews on it. The ‘foam’ bit was delicious. It was butterscotch flavour. The ‘beer’ itself was awful. I can’t even describe the flavour. Ellie said it was like “fizzy gone off apple juice”. There’s a bin especially for liquid, so I can’t imagine it’s very popular. I was also going to get a butterbeer tankard but it looked cheap and plastic so I didn’t bother. Next time I may get the butterbeer ice-cream. I imagine that will be more of the butterscotch flavour.

Outdoor set
Here you would find the Weasleys car, Hagrids bike, The Knight Bus, the Dursley house, The house Harry’s parents died, part of the bridge and some of the chess pieces used in the first film.
This area wasn’t very busy. That might have been something to do with the rain, but it made it easier to take photos!

Behind the scenes
Being a crafter – this area was brilliant for me. I love knowing how things were made. The details in the goblins face were mind blowing! Did you know there was a robot Hagrid? It’s very freaky!

This area then leads you on to another Buckbeak, don’t forget to bow will you!
You then move on to a wall with all the hats that were used during filming!

Then there’s the bit I was looking forward too the most. Diagon Alley. The details in the shop windows we’re unbelievable considering the camera wouldn’t have been focused on them for too long. I was so lost in this world, I forgot it wasn’t real for a moment.

After this you walk through the paper models of where the sets started.

DSC_0074

After that, you walk through to the most spectacular set there. The castle. I couldn’t believe the size of it. I have seen many photos of it, but never understood how big it was. Every four minutes, the lights changed from day to night, and at night, lights in the castle came on! There was so much detail to this castle. They used it to film the overhead scenes. I was close to tears when I saw it, It was magical.

After that, you walk into Ollivanders and see some of the wand boxes which were really used in the filming. Some are even scorched where they were blown up in filming.
There was a guy called Lee working in this section. He really knows his stuff. He pointed out to every actor we asked for. Explained who certain unknown names were and told us many stories about different people. We spent a good 45 minutes with him. It was clear he loved his job and Harry Potter. He said the staff were like a family and it was lovely.

DSC_0131

You then finish the tour by looking around the shop. Give yourself a limit on how much you want to spend as you could end up spending a fortune on the amazing things they have for sale.

sdr
sdr

On average, most people spend 3 hours there. We spent 6 1/2 hours there.
It was the most magical day of my life. I can’t wait to visit again!

Harry Potter themed homemade gift here: Alohomora..

 

One thought on “We caught the Hogwarts express..

Leave a Reply

